@READ DOWNLOAD ⚺ The Secret of the Key ¸ eBook or E-pub free

finished 2020 07 06 Definitely my favorite of the quad series b c there s acknowledgement of the great risks involved in Ruthie s adventures. The Secret of the Key appears to be the final book in Marianne Malone s SIXTY EIGHT ROOMS adventures This children s series has been a bit of a disappointment for me and the only reason I have continued with it is that I requested a review copy of the audiobook edition of this final book and so I felt obligated to read it As I have noted previously, and as Bill and Kelly have mentioned, the premise is fabulous, but the execution falls short.The stories follow Ruthie and Jack, two sixth graders The Secret of the Key appears to be the final book in Marianne Malone s SIXTY EIGHT ROOMS adventures This children s series has been a bit of a disappointment for me and the only reason I have continued with it is that I requested a review copy of the audiobook edition of this final book and so I felt obligated to read it As I have noted previously, and as Bill and Kelly have mentioned, the premise is fabulous, but the execution falls short.The stories follow Ruthie and Jack, two sixth graders who find a way to shrink and explore the Thorne Rooms in the Art Institute of Chicago The two likable kids discover that the Read More @READ DOWNLOAD ⚨ The Secret of the Key ⚞ Filled with magic, mystery, miniatures, and adventure, the Sixty Eight Rooms is the perfect series for fans of Chasing Vermeer, The Mixed Up Files of Mrs Basil E Frankweiler, and The Dollpeople Chicago sixth graders Ruthie and Jack think they ve learned everything about the magic of the Art Institute s Thorne Rooms But the magic starts to act strangely when Ruthie and Jack discover two rings that are out of place and out of time and a portal that shouldn t be open but somehow is Ruthie and Jack follow the clues to seventeenth century England and the Brownlow house, where they meet the Brownlow s governess, Rebecca But Rebecca has a few secrets of her own and she might even be in the wrong century Can Ruthie and Jack discover the truth about Rebecca s mysterious past, or will they end up stuck in the wrong century themselves Their quest for answers takes them from s New York City and San Francisco to turn of the century China The only one who can truly answer their questions may be the woman who started it all the room s creator, Narcissa Thorne But to talk to Mrs Thorne, they ll have to go back in time and find her Unlock the magic in the exciting conclusion to the Sixty Eight Rooms Adventures To be fair, my rating would be a 2.5 but the fact that this series has so much that would normally recommend it to me that the fact that I m lukewarm on it says something, I think In this series, two kids stumble upon a magical discovery that allows them to step into the miniature Thorne Rooms in the Art Institute and travel through time In the final installment, Jack and Ruthie realize they are not the only travelers while simultaneously bumping up against some potentially problematic loophol To be fair, my rating would be a 2.5 but the fact that this series has so much that would normally recommend it to me that the fact that I m lukewarm on it says something, I think In this series, two kids stumble upon a magical discovery that allows them to step into the miniature Thorne Rooms in the Art Institute and travel through time In the final installment, Jack and Ruthie realize they are not the only travelers while simultaneously bumping up against some potentially problematic loopholes in the magic that could have fire consequences if they re not careful With miniaturization, time travel, and the making good on the after hours escapades in a museum dream so many of us Mixed Up Filesfans gave had, it seems inconceivable that these factors would not add up to a win Unfortunately the main characters come off as flat yet familiar as Jack and Annie from the Magic Treehouse books, and there is a certain slightly teacherly undertone to any of the history related scenes you can t quite shake that adds to that Magic Treehouse grows up feel The kids feel a little Pat and pigeonholed to me and have a slight formality to their speech and behavior towards each other and adults that reminds me do much of The Boxcar children and other similar series books from that time Even when the kids are acting against an adult s wishes I have a hard time finding them believable as troublemakers Also, the magic rules of the world are a bit too arbitrary and contradictory for my taste I like having a system to my magic, a philosophy, and there felt like there was too much going on here, making it feel like the author was evolving it on the spot to meet her narrative needs as convenience allowed.For ainteresting take, I d recommend the Grimm Legacy For ahumorous take, I d recommend the Mr Lemoncello books by Grabenstein.Otherwise, for MT fans, this seems a very natural next step, or for Boxcar Children loving parents that are looking for a tame read with a bit of mystery Final book in this really awesome series Could have totally been a 68 series one for each of the rooms and I would have read every single one of them Chicago sixth graders Ruthie and Jack think they ve learned everything about the magic of the Art Institute s Thorne Rooms But the magic starts to act strangely when Ruthie and Jack discover two rings that are out of place and out of time and a portal that shouldn t be open but somehow is Ruthie and Jack follow the clues to seventeenth century Final book in this really awesome series Could have totally been a 68 series one for each of the rooms and I would have read every single one of them Chicago sixth graders Ruthie and Jack think they ve learned everything about the magic of the Art Institute s Thorne Rooms But the magic starts to act strangely when Ruthie and Jack discover two rings that are out of place and out of time and a portal that shouldn t be open but somehow is Ruthie and Jack follow the clues to seventeenth century England and the Brownlow house, where they meet the Brownlow s governess, Rebecca But Rebecca has a few secrets of her own and she might even be in the wrong century Can Ruthie and Jack discover the truth about Rebecca s mysterious past, or will they end up stuck in the wrong century themselves Their quest for answers takes them from 1930s New York City and San Francisco to turn of the century China The only one who can truly answer their questions may be the woman who started it all the room s creator, Narcissa Thorne But to talk to Mrs Thorne, they ll have to go back in time and find her The 4th book is out Reading aloud to both big kids Sad that the series ended I would have loved a book about every room, but it was a good ending T esre and time travel elemeniii in it I think it wrapped up too fast, but I still really enjoyed it The historical aspects of these stories are always fun. This book wraps up the series and brings in a fewdilemmas for the children to solve before their magical adventures come to a close Jack and Ruthie have realized the time traveling magic isdangerous than they thought and that their actions have consequences I liked that Ruthie s thoughts on their adventures were maturing We get to exploreof the rooms with them as well.Per usual I found their dealings with adults overly simplified and the resolutions to conflicts rather conve This book wraps up the series and brings in a fewdilemmas for the children to solve before their magical adventures come to a close Jack and Ruthie have realized the time traveling magic isdangerous than they thought and that their actions have consequences I liked that Ruthie s thoughts on their adventures were maturing We get to exploreof the rooms with them as well.Per usual I found their dealings with adults overly simplified and the resolutions to conflicts rather convenient There s a reunion in this book spoiler maybe idk , siblings who haven t seen each other for 40 years and after a 5 min convo they go their own ways, possibly never to see each other again No catch up, no tearful goodbyessorry, not buying it.An interesting, if rushed, conclusion to the series.This is a solid series overall My main issues are a lack of detail realism when it comes to the two kids solving crimes, wandering mostly unscathed through the past and convincing adults to do whatever they need adults aware of the situation letting the kids handle everything alone.Were I younger, the series might rank higher with me I also think the illustrations were too few and typically didn t highlight useful scenes or enrich the book all that much.The chapters area pretty short and it makes for easy reading for a younger audience This would be a great intro to history for some kids and could also add some appeal to museums I would love to see the rooms after having read this series and should I ever find myself in Chicago, a trip to the Thorne Rooms is certainly in order I loved this entire series After visiting the Thorne rooms at the Art Institute of Chicago and being completely enchanted by them, I heard about this series and had to read it, even though they are lower middle grade books The books are as fun and charming as the rooms themselves I highly recommend them, especially if you have any interest in the Thorne Rooms, miniatures, and or time travel So much fun